Current Status


The vision of the College of Science (CoS) is to search for excellence. To achieve this goal, its education purposes are:

1.         promote inter-disciplinary teaching of basic sciences to foster students with independent thinking and problem-solving skills.

2.         conduct world-class forefront research, create excellent environment for basic science research in order to produce top researchers.

3.         emphasize on both theory and applications to work closely with the industry, assist the upgrading of industry.

4.         combine the technology and humanities aspects to care for the society, attain positive contribution by active participation in the progress of society.


The CoS is currently composed of Department of Mathematics, Department of Physics, Department of Chemistry (all with B.S., M.S. and Ph.D. curricula), Institute of Statistics (with M.S. and Ph.D. curricula), Institute of Astronomy (with M.S. and Ph.D. curricula), Institute of Computational and Modeling Science (with M.S. curriculum), Interdisciplinary Program of Sciences (for interdisciplinary double major curriculum), and the M.S. and Ph.D. curricula for Science and Technology of Synchrotron Light Source Program (Physics Division belongs to CoS, Engineering & System Science Division belongs to College of Nuclear Science) .


The National Center for Theoretical Sciences was founded by MOST in 1997. It serves as the national showcase to international cooperation in theoretical and physical sciences. In addition, Tsing Hua Center for Fundamental Science Research was founded in 2007, aiming at integrating collaboration of all research topics among physical sciences and related disciplines. The College is equipped with excellent libraries and research facilities. Many national research organizations are situated on or nearby the campus, including the National Synchrotron Radiation Research Center, National Center for High-Performance Computing, Hsinchu Science Park, National Space Organization, and Industrial Technology Research Institute. The Physics Research Promotion Center of the MOST is also located on campus and has close interaction with the College.


At present CoS serves as the hub institute for 109 full-time faculty members, whose research achievements are all greatly recognized by peers of their fields. Among them, 26 faculty members received MOST Outstanding Research Awards, 11 received MOE Academic Awards, 12 received scholarships by the Outstanding Scholar Award Foundation, 7 received MOE National Chair Professorship.


The College is not just a leading center of fundamental scientific research in Taiwan; it has also attained strong international reputation. Several alumni emerge as world famous scholars, including 1957 Physics Nobel Laureate C. N. Yang, 1986 Chemistry Nobel Laureate Y. T. Lee and Harvard Bill Gates Chair Professor H. T. Kung. Combining eminent alumni’s outstanding achievements and faculty members’ dedication, the College strives to be a leading international center of scientific research.
最後修改者 : 2019-07-18 09:03:24